OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

February 8, 2022 9:26 am  #1

caregiver in a MOM

I've been bouncing back and forth for 6 years about staying in my marriage. Sometimes I think I would have been better off if I had left in the beginning of all of this, but I did not. Now I must learn to accept my fate and learn to make my MOM work. I decided to seek out a caregiver support group, then realized they would not understand the half of it, my marriage is far from normal. So I decided to turn to OurPath for help. Here's my situation. My GID husband has been bouncing in and out of the closet for 6 years since his announcement. He has had some major health issues over these past 6 years. Each time one has happened he has pushed himself back into the closet declaring either that God does not want him to be gay and is punishing him or that it is not safe to be gay with his condition. He has had 5 surgeries in 5 years, all "structural". After each surgery, he came out of the closet stating he needs to fulfill his sexual desires and cannot resist anymore, only for another ailment to strike pushing him back into the closet. Then last April the big one hit..... massive heart attack with major heart muscle damage. This time no surgery will put humpty dumpty back together. To him being gay never happened. He came home from the hospital declaring that God did not want him to have these feelings and therefore he refused to be gay, end of discussion. So where does this put me, I had finally accepted that our marriage was like a contract. We were best frie