OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

October 10, 2023 6:32 pm  #1

how to figure it out

Hi, all -- newbie here. Husband of 25 years revealed about 18 months ago that he's trans. He's working on steps to transition, probably is about a year out from starting hormones. The kids are (mostly) out of the house, and we're in a liberal state where I don't expect a huge social backlash on myself (or him). He knows that I'm on the fence about divorcing him. Anyone with experience of sticking with a marriage and waiting through the transition? How did you figure out what YOU wanted? how did you figure out if you could shift from e.g. a straight marriage to being in a lesbian one? how did you figure out if your marriage was worth putting up with the transition? (anyone with experience of their husband going on the hormones? how bad was it? the bottom surgery? how bad was it?) -- the fact is, I am not sure what I want to do and if this is going to end, I'd rather it end NOW while I'm still in my early 50s rather than waiting and seeing that it sucks. Anyone with thoughts/experience/advice? 

October 10, 2023 7:04 pm  #2

Re: how to figure it out

Hi

there was a poster here called Out Of His Closet who stuck it out a long way, thankfully divorced now, but she wrote extensively and I think you should be able to find her posts still on this site.

my thoughts in a nutshell - hit the ground running.  Look for the friends and family who will help you.

October 10, 2023 8:28 pm  #3

lily wrote: