OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

November 22, 2020 1:38 pm  #1

How Much Responsibility Should Be Taken?

Hey folks,

So I'm pretty new to the SSN and I just posted my story. Please feel free to check it out. So my question is how much responsibility do you feel straight spouses should take in the process? My ex disclosed her feelings for women to me, so thankfully she didn't venture outside the marriage which I think would be really difficult. She does try to place to some amount of responsibility in our separation by making comments like, "you wouldn't have been happy or satisfied intimately".  Although there is some truth in this...I mean the lack of affection, passion and intimacy was a large part of our arguments towards the end. What I'm realizing is that I shouldn't feel guilty though because I didn't have any intimacy issues....she did because she liked women and not men. 

Just thought I'd ask around and see if there is anyone with similiar situations. 

Thanks,
Jeremy

November 22, 2020 2:39 pm  #2

Re: How Much Responsibility Should Be Taken?

Hi Jeremy,

funny how the straight spouse is always the one on the sofa.  In my situation, a bit further on in life, I realised we needed to sort things out between us before the second property was bought.  He wanted to buy a holiday house.  And we ended up divorced first - I have my own place.  I got a really nice bed.