OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

August 24, 2020 11:44 pm  #1

A success story

This is my first time posting here.  I met my DH in college, and we have been together over 14 years, married for 7, and have three beautiful children.  I have known since before we dated he was bisexual.  He is not out to all his friends or family (catholic background), but my family and friends know as well as college friends.  We have worked hard to maintain the right boundaries and expectations in our relationship.  We have normal relationship problems, but at the end of the day we choose to be with each other.

How I wish a forum like this was around to help me find success stories, so I'll share some of what I/we've learned:

It is totally possible for someone to be bisexual.  This is not a roadway or transition to being gay.  He has known of his attraction to men, but fell in love with a woman.  However, he is honest about his feelings and doesn't hide things.  Transparency is huge, even if it can be uncomfortable.