OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

August 13, 2019 1:34 pm  #1

Stuck in this place

I've been coming to this site since 2016.  I have been on the fence for over 3 years now on what to do.  Our kids were very young at the time and I didn't want to break up our family so I decided to stay and make do.  Fast forward to today and not much has changed.  At the time of discovery he denied everything and no matter what he said and did he maintained for about a year that he was straight except for a time when I said maybe he's slightly not straight and he sort of nodded in agreement.  Except I don't actually believe that its 'slightly'. 

The thing is I am able to maintain the way things are if it wasn't for him.  He's incredibly selfish and if you've ever heard the term emotional labour I can say that I carry most of it in this household.  He's often miserable, like today when he threw his cell phone and was yelling swear words (because I took too long at the store when he was at home and wanted to leave; I was gone 1 hour running an errand for his business and I stopped at the store directly beside to do one additional errand??? wtf) his rages are usually excessive for the situation which causes me to be stressed out because I can usually sense that he's about to go off on one but when I got home even I wasn't expecting him to fly off the handle that much.  I am always stressed out, like if I am doing something I am not sure what to expect from him, is he going to flip or is it going to slip by.