OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

October 29, 2017 5:46 pm  #1

I am completely broke

Hi everyone, newbie here.
So for a while now things have changed with my partner. We completely lacked romance in any form. I’m currently 22 years old and have a little boy who has just turned one. Back to the point last night we finally had a discussion about how we felt, I mentioned how I feel like our love has changed & just us in general had changed. After the discussion I said I’d like to try and work on things and not give up to which my boyfriend wasn’t so sure about. Anyway, today we dropped our little boy off at his Nana’s and went for a drive - this is when he dropped the bombshell that he thinks he’s gay. We’ve been together for 9 years and all I’ve ever known is him. I can’t get my head around it & my mind just won’t shut off even though I’m so tired. Since the conversation we’ve decided that it’s best we split up & he’s gone to stay at his mums house. He’s messaged me a couple of times and it’s like he’s this new found person now & is completely open about it. It’s absolutely destroying me to the point where I don’t actually know what I’m suppose to do. I feel so broken & even though I’m only 22, I now feel like I’m going to be alone forever.. mainly because I feel like I shouldn’t trust someone again. Anyway I’ve waffles on a lot but I’m just here to speak to people who have been through this because right now I feel I can’t discuss the situation with my friends as they know both me and him.

October 29, 2017 6:46 pm  #2