OurPath Open Forum

This Open Forum is funded and administered by OurPath, Inc., (formerly the Straight Spouse Network). OurPath is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that provides support to Straight Partners and Partners of Trans People who have discovered that their partner is LGBT+. Your contribution, no matter how small, helps us provide our community with this space for discussion and connection.

BE A DONOR >>>

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

December 8, 2016 10:46 am  #1

How long do I wait????

Hello everyone, I am new to this. need some help. wife of 17 years, is in a relationship with a girl 22years younger. I don't understand this, and it sickens me. I am overwhelmed with anger resentment. my two children don't understand, and ask me questions I can't answer. I don't know how long I should wait before proceeding with divorce talks with her? she keeps putting it off, and I can't help getting more resentful with time. She led me on in the beginning saying it was just something she had had to experience, She said it couldn't go anywhere because of the age difference, well now she is hooked, and in love. I feel more alone now then ever, hard time dealing with basic daily routines. any help would be appreciated.
Also does anyone know of any real time chat lines I can meet similar people going through this? I need to carry on a conversation with someone other than my kids, that know what I'm feeling right now.
Thank You

Last edited by jd1376 (December 8, 2016 10:47 am)

December 8, 2016 10:53 am  #2

Re: How long do I wait????

Hi jd,

If your wife were in love and in an ongoing relationship with a man instead, how would you proceed?  You should proceed exactly the same way.  The relationship is still being forsaken the same way - with another.  The gay thing just adds an additional layer to the whole situation - it doesn't replace what the situation is about.

I'm sorry you're going through this.  It's terrible.  I wish you well.

Kel